Congressman Lowenthal Introduces Resolution Recognizing 45th Anniversary of Fall of Saigon

April 28, 2020
Press Release

Congressman Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), today, introduced a House Resolution recognizing the significance of, and commemorating the 45th anniversary of the Fall of Saigon and the tragic collapse of the Republic of Vietnam.

On April 30, 1975, Saigon, the capitol of the Republic of Vietnam, was invaded by communist forces in an event known as ‘‘Black April’’ or the ‘‘Fall of Saigon.’’ Each year this solemn event is commemorated in Vietnamese American communities across the United States.

The resolution introduced today honors the service of U.S. and South Vietnamese forces that fought and died during the Vietnam War, the hundreds of thousands who lost their lives attempting to flee Vietnam, the millions more that found safety in nations around the world, and the accomplishments and contributions of Vietnamese Americans to our nation over the past 45 years.

“The wounds left by the Fall of Saigon run deep in the Vietnamese American community. Even after 45 years, this pain continues to be felt by hundreds of thousands of individuals who fled the Fall, by the diaspora who survived the traumatic ordeal, and by those who rebuilt their lives far from their homeland,” Congressman Lowenthal said. 

“The more-than-two-million strong Vietnamese American community remains a thriving and integral part of both the American dream and the full tapestry of our diverse nation. I am proud to introduce a House Resolution in remembrance of the sacrifice and resilience of these brave people who, driven out of Vietnam, created new lives and new homes in the U.S. I am also proud to honor through this resolution the service of the members of the United States armed forces and of the South Vietnamese forces who fought and died in Vietnam to defend the freedom of the Vietnamese people. I encourage every American to join me in remembering the Fall of Saigon, in honoring contributions of the Vietnamese American community to American life, and in calling for freedom, human rights, and democracy for Vietnam.”

The resolution is cosponsored by Congress Members Gil Cisneros (CA-39), Gerald Connolly (VA-11), Lou Correa (CA-46), Jim Costa (CA-16), Susan Davis (CA-53), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Scott Peters (CA-52), Harley Rouda (CA-48), and Jan Schakowsky (IL-09).  

Read the full text of the resolution by clicking here.