Congressman Lowenthal Introduces Resolution Committing U.S. to Two-State Solution in Middle East

May 3, 2019
Press Release
Congressman Alan Lowenthal (CA-47) has introduced H.Res.326, a resolution seeking to express the sense of the House that any U.S. plan or proposal for peace in the Middle East must include and center on a two-state solution.

Original cosponsors of the resolution when it was introduced were Congresswoman Karen Bass (CA-37) and Congressman Gerry Connolly (VA-11). Since introduction, an additional six House Members have signed onto the resolution.

The resolution begins by acknowledging the close relationship between the U.S and Israel, recognizing the many years of effort the U.S. has committed to finding a path toward peace between Israelis and Palestinians, and the long history of a two-state solution being a central component of U.S. foreign policy in the Middle East. The resolution recognizes that the United States has long opposed settlement activity and moves toward unilateral annexation in Palestinian territory.

The resolution resolves that it is the sense of the House that "only the achievement of a two-state solution that enhances stability and security in the Middle East can both ensure the State of Israel's survival as a secure Jewish and democratic state and fulfill the legitimate aspirations of the Palestinian people for a state of their own." It also expresses that any U.S. proposal that fails to endorse a two-state solution or that encourages unilateral annexation of territory is likely to put "…a peaceful end to the conflict further out of reach."

While the resolution acknowledges that the U.S. has historically played a critical role in bringing the two sides to the negotiating table, it clearly states that "…only the Israelis and the Palestinians can make the difficult choices necessary to end their conflict."

The full list of cosponsoring Members includes: Karen Bass (CA-37), Don Beyer (VA-08), Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Steve Cohen (TN-09), Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Anna Eshoo (CA-18), John Garamendi (CA-03), Jared Huffman (CA-2), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Ann Kuster (NH-02), Mark Pocan (WI-02), and Maxine Waters (CA-43).

To read the full text of the resolution, click here.